top of page
Search

Frieda Verlage, a Mexican-American artist who develops her work using anxiety to her advantage

Updated: Dec 23, 2020

Where are you from? Where do you live now?

I am originally from Mexico, from a small and rural town, but I currently reside in the United States.

When I was younger, I wanted to be a criminologist, and my family advised me to move to the U.S. in order to have a better education in that particular field. However, once I started my university studies, I fell in love with art. What is your daily contact with art?

I am an artist and art educator. I teach art at the secondary level during the day, and at night I go to my studio space.


How has the pandemic impacted your lifestyle as an artist?

Time has really become a luxury and time management has been essential. The pandemic has really put into focus the aspects of my life that are most important to me. But at the same time, I feel like I am being pulled in different directions. I have noticed that I am being more disciplined with my art practice, but I do miss traveling. I have to plan my projects more, I try to order my supplies to be delivered to my home in order to not risk exposing my family and some supplies have not been in stock for a while.


I can see that your art prints creations are much influenced by Mexican culture as part of your art language. Further, they are so unique. What is your inspiration?

I really love traveling and learning, I would describe myself as a lifelong learner. Whenever I travel, I try to notice the details from the place that get my attention and take photographs with my phone. I really am fascinated by pre, post and colonial time periods in Mexico. Because I moved to the United States for high school, I felt like I missed a lot of the learning about the history of my country. When I was in university, I decided to take art history classes about that time period and I really fell in love with all the narrative, history and art being produced. If there is an interesting book about the topic, I will read it and get inspired from what I learn.

I really love doing research once a topic comes into my orbit. My art practice is to find a topic, issue or story that I find interesting, immerse myself in it and find a little kernel that speaks to me.


Are there any specific aspects, patterns, symbolisms or materials that you consider elemental? How is your work process?

Once I start creating, my process tends to be very experimental and emotional. I really like to leave room for happenings, last minute inspirations and happy accidents. I may start with a plan in mind, but more often than not, things change in the process and I like to be flexible. I do like sets, repetition and texture; therefore, they keep reappearing in my work. Sometimes my work has been described as decorative since I do like using bright colors.





I also read that the concept of anxiety has been in your mind for quite a long time. What do you question about it? Have you got an answer? How does this word become real, if so, in you as an artist? and in your creations?



I came to know about anxiety as an adult, but when I revisited my childhood memories and experiences, I discovered that this emotion or state has been with me for a very long time. I seek to understand it in a way to understand myself.

Once I had a concrete name for this “character” in my life, a lot of experiences made more sense and I also had many more questions. A lot of the feelings and embodied experiences you go through while being anxious are sometimes the same ones associated with excitement. When does anxiety change from evolutionary useful to a mental health disintegration?

My anxiety manifests itself in a very mental and physical manner. The repetition of marks in my work can be a symbol but also a literal manifestation, since my body is doing the motions over and over again. This is the same as having looping thoughts going through my mind, clenching my jaw while I sleep, moving my hands in repetitive motions when I’m at rest, etc.

I have come to accept that my anxiety sometimes defines me as an individual and artist, but I seek to understand it in order to master it. It will be a lifelong journey, but it is also a universal experience. I hope that by addressing my individual experience (or mental health), I can invite others to do the same with their experiences.

Please, mention 5 – 10 words that come to your mind regarding your project in this RIO Residency.

Layers, introspective, emotional connection, mental health, communal experiences. Thank you! Follow Frieda Verlage on Instagram: @mokuart

 

¿De donde eres? ¿Dónde vives ahora?

Soy originaria de México, de un pueblo pequeño y rural, pero actualmente resido en los Estados Unidos.

Cuando era más joven, quería ser criminóloga y mi familia me aconsejó que me mudara a los Estados Unidos para tener una mejor educación en ese campo en particular. Sin embargo, una vez que comencé mis estudios universitarios, me enamoré del arte.


¿Cuál es tu contacto diario con el arte?

Soy artista y educadora de arte. Enseño arte en el nivel secundario durante el día y por la noche voy a mi estudio.

¿Cómo ha impactado la pandemia en tu estilo de vida como artista?

El tiempo se ha convertido realmente en un lujo y la gestión del tiempo ha sido fundamental. La pandemia realmente ha puesto en foco los aspectos de mi vida que son más importantes para mí. Pero al mismo tiempo, siento que me arrastran en diferentes direcciones. Me he dado cuenta de que soy más disciplinada con mi práctica artística, pero extraño viajar. Tengo que planificar más mis proyectos, trato de ordenar que mis suministros sean entregados a mi casa para no arriesgarme a exponer a mi familia y algunos suministros no han estado en stock por un tiempo.



Puedo ver que tus creaciones de grabado artístico están muy influenciadas por la cultura mexicana como parte de tu lenguaje artístico. Además, son tan únicos. ¿Cuál es tu inspiración?

Realmente amo viajar y aprender, me describiría como un aprendiz de por vida. Siempre que viajo trato de notar los detalles del lugar que me llaman la atención y tomo fotografías con mi teléfono. Realmente estoy fascinada por los períodos pre, post y colonial en México. Debido a que me mudé a los Estados Unidos para la escuela secundaria, sentí que me perdí mucho del aprendizaje sobre la historia de mi país. Cuando estaba en la universidad, decidí tomar clases de historia del arte sobre ese período de tiempo y realmente me enamoré de toda la narrativa, la historia y el arte que se estaba produciendo. Si hay un libro interesante sobre el tema, lo leeré y me inspiraré con lo que aprendo.

Realmente me encanta investigar una vez que un tema entra en mi órbita. Mi práctica artística es encontrar un tema, cuestión o historia que me parezca interesante, sumergirme en él y encontrar un pequeño núcleo que me hable. ¿Hay aspectos, patrones, simbolismos o materiales específicos que consideres elementales? ¿Cómo es tu proceso de trabajo?

Una vez que empiezo a crear, mi proceso tiende a ser muy experimental y emocional. Me gusta mucho dejar espacio para acontecimientos, inspiraciones de última hora y accidentes felices. Puedo comenzar con un plan en mente, pero la mayoría de las veces, las cosas cambian en el proceso y me gusta ser flexible. Me gustan los conjuntos, la repetición y la textura; por tanto, siguen apareciendo en mi obra. A veces mi trabajo ha sido descrito como decorativo ya que me gusta usar colores brillantes.

También leí que el concepto de "ansiedad" ha estado en tu mente durante bastante tiempo. ¿Qué te cuestionas al respecto? ¿Tienes una respuesta? ¿Cómo se vuelve real esta palabra, si es así, en ti como artista? y en tus creaciones? Llegué a conocer la ansiedad cuando era adulta, pero cuando volví a visitar los recuerdos y experiencias de mi infancia, descubrí que esta emoción o estado ha estado conmigo durante mucho tiempo. Busco comprenderlo de una manera que me comprenda a mí misma.

Una vez que tuve un nombre concreto para este “personaje” en mi vida, muchas experiencias tuvieron más sentido y también tuve muchas más preguntas. Muchos de los sentimientos y experiencias corporales que atraviesas mientras estás ansioso son a veces los mismos asociados con la emoción. ¿Cuándo cambia la ansiedad de una utilidad evolutiva a una desintegración de la salud mental?

Mi ansiedad se manifiesta de una manera muy física y mental. La repetición de marcas en mi trabajo puede ser un símbolo pero también una manifestación literal, ya que mi cuerpo está haciendo los movimientos una y otra vez. Esto es lo mismo que tener pensamientos en bucle por mi mente, apretar la mandíbula mientras duermo, mover las manos en movimientos repetitivos cuando estoy en reposo, etc.

He llegado a aceptar que mi ansiedad a veces me define como individuo y artista, pero busco comprenderla para dominarla. Será un viaje para toda la vida, pero también es una experiencia universal. Espero que al abordar mi experiencia individual (o salud mental), pueda invitar a otros a hacer lo mismo con sus experiencias.


Por favor, mencione de 5 a 10 palabras que le vengan a la mente con respecto a su proyecto en esta Residencia de RIO.

Capas, introspectiva, conexión emocional, salud mental, experiencias comunitarias. Gracias! Sigue a Frieda Verlage en Instagram: @mokuart

91 views0 comments

© 2020 by MANGO Residencia para Artistas. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page