top of page
Search

From LA, Cathy Weiss weaves a strong and holistic communication with the world through her art

Where are you from? Where do you live now? I was born in New York City and brought up in Los Angeles. I moved around a bit for college. I lived in Northern California then in NYC and when I had my first child, we made the decision to move back to Los Angeles to be close to my family. We live in a part of Los Angeles, Laurel Canyon which is part the Santa Monica Mountains filled with native flora and fauna. I’m very grateful to be surrounded by nature.


What is your earliest memory of art connected to your life?

I was raised by strong creative women. My mother was always painting and refinishing cupboards and sewing all my sister’s and my clothes. She was a singer, and my dad was always writing and loved poetry. Their friends were all creatives or at least supporters of the arts. They were always entertaining, so we had people over all the time. My grandmother was always cooking, singing, gardening and doing needlepoint. I have many of her chairs and a beautiful piece of a Hungarian violinist with his lover at his knee. My grandmother was a romantic. I have an older brother who married a brilliant artist. She taught me to draw when I was a child and she and my brother took me to museums at a very young age. All their friends were artists, poets, musicians and actors. So, I was brought up in a creative world. My whole family are creatives. My brother, his two daughters, my sister and her son and of course my husband and children as well. I am an artist both through nature and nurture.


How does pandemic impact your lifestyle as an artist?

The pandemic has been very difficult. I’m just starting to get out again, seeing friends and family, going to see art exhibitions and hear music. I’m going to hear a concert on music of the soul of Spain this weekend. My women’s art collective shifted, and I invited artists to share their practice via zoom. I started meeting with artist friends via zoom as well. But I had lost my ability to focus with a very important election taking most of my attention, our democracy in the U.S. is at stake. I spent the beginning noticing all the birds and nests in my garden and started making work inspired by the quiet, then started a vote campaign where I donated stickers and pins to organizations. They used them for incentives and people bought them to send all over the country to help get out the vote. I was also making work based on what was happening to the children at the border. I’m now working on a project inspired by Warrior Women and the women who stand behind us. The biggest change in my lifestyle due to the pandemic is I’m spending a lot more time taking my dogs for long walks and not being able to host dinner parties. I’m very lucky and grateful that my family and friends have kept their jobs, homes and lives. Since this writing I am hosting again, outdoors and I’ve accepted an artist residency in printmaking at a local school where Social Justice is the basis for their curriculum.


As you mentioned, you have been and still are working on a project inspired by Warrior Women. Could you tell us more about this project. Who are these women, what have they done so that you consider them as inspiration on your project? Asherah, Mother of all Gods, Mighty and Nurturing, Tree Goddess, Goddess of Motherhood, Goddess of the Sea.

A few years ago, I was accepted into an exhibition in Los Angeles and the curator asked me if I had read the book, Henna House. It’s a book that talks about how Jewish and Muslim women in Yemen would share their stories and secrets with each other through their ritual of drawing Henna designs on their bodies. The curator saw my work and saw the connection. When I read the book it gave me chills, I had a déjà vu moment because I carve my woodblocks in the way women henna their bodies. This experience started me on a journey to discover my ancestry and the idea that bringing women together across faith, culture and life experience could be a way for me to help build bridges. Through this project I met and learned about many amazing women and how we did not get to where we are alone. The women I chose to include in the project are women that are doing work to help bring change and make our world a better place. Through interviewing these women, I learned about the women in their lives that inspired them, and I wanted to share their stories. This work is about the Warrior Women who stand behind us, who helped us become who we are. We all stand on the shoulders of women. Women in history, in our lives, women who have fought for change, to make this a better world for all our daughters and sons. I used the scroll to display the stories I have collected. A scroll is a symbol of life and time. Both ends rolled up indicates a life that is unfolding of uncertain length with the past and future hidden.



We noticed that the color blue, in its various shades, is a dominant in all of your - meaning your entire - creations, what purpose does it serve in your pieces? I use blue in all my work because of the symbolism it carries throughout many cultures. It is the color of protection and brings peace. It’s the color of the sky and sea and when I traveled throughout the Mediterranean, I saw that people painted their windows and doors blue to protect themselves and their families. We are water, we are blue. I also think of our ether I see it as blue that is why the rope and string used in my work are dyed blue. Blue crosses spiritual, emotional and physical planes.


Another essencial in your general work: the symbols, could you talk to us about them? Once a curator said to me that my work sparks conversation, it doesn’t hit you in the face and then is gone but you see something new each time. My work is layered both physically and in meaning. I research the elements that go into each piece. It started for me when my daughter broke her back by being thrown from a horse. I started carving skeletons into my work. Each piece since then has bones carved into it. Each new work has images from what came before with new elements added. Different objects from nature, mythology, ancestry, world issues, inform my work and I look for the symbolism of things across time and place that bring depth to each piece.

In my statement about my work, Asherah, I speak to the meaning of specific images I used.

You work is in large format pieces and you also add a lot of texture to them. How is your process work, how do you decide the variety of materials you will use? How do these decisions impact in the result of your creations? I love working large, it gives me room to breathe. When I started making large woodcut print installations, I found a washi paper that both could take my ink and dye and came in rolls. It also came in the same width as the fabric I use to layer with it allowing for freedom and formality and it also was easy to cut and shape giving me a way to break away using elements that add depth. I love both fabric and washi paper for their transparency allowing light to alter the image and cast shadows. I work from an idea, a thought that comes from something I hear, see or feel. Sometimes it comes during a dream or meditation, a talk or event. I then start my research on meaning across cultures and through that the work begins to take shape. I don’t plan it all out, it comes to me as I work and then I start to experiment. I also love using clay as it lends itself to the relief and drawing that I do. Drawing with a gouge in wood or a tool into clay is deeply satisfying for me.

Please mention 5 to 10 words that come to your mind about your project in this virtual residency. Opportunity, growth, vision, time consuming, meaningful, tribute, honor, timeless, warriorwomen Thank you!


Follow Cathy Weiss on Instagram @cathyweiss

 

Desde Los Ángeles, Cathy Weiss teje una comunicación sólida y holística con el mundo a través de su arte

¿De dónde eres? ¿Dónde vives actualmente?

Nací en la ciudad de Nueva York y me crié en Los Ángeles. Me mudé a los alredeores para ir a la universidad. Viví en el norte de California y luego en Nueva York y cuando tuve mi primer hijo, tomamos la decisión de regresar a Los Ángeles para estar cerca de mi familia. Vivimos en una parte de Los Ángeles, Laurel Canyon, que es parte de las montañas de Santa Mónica llenas de flora y fauna nativa. Estoy muy agradecida de estar rodeado de naturaleza.


¿Cuál es tu primer recuerdo del arte conectado con tu vida?

Fui criada por mujeres fuertes y creativas. Mi madre siempre estaba pintando y reparando armarios y cosiendo toda la ropa de mi hermana y la mía. Ella era cantante y mi papá siempre escribía y amaba la poesía. Todos sus amigos eran creativos o al menos partidarios de las artes. Siempre fueron entretenidos, así que tuvimos gente todo el tiempo. Mi abuela siempre cocinaba, cantaba, trabajaba en el jardín y hacía bordados. Tengo muchas de sus sillas y una hermosa pieza de un violinista húngaro con su amante arrodillado. Mi abuela era romántica. Tengo un hermano mayor que se casó con un artista brillante. Ella me enseñó a dibujar cuando era niña y ella y mi hermano me llevaron a los museos a una edad muy temprana. Todos sus amigos eran artistas, poetas, músicos y actores. Entonces, me crié en un mundo creativo. Toda mi familia es creativa. Mi hermano, sus dos hijas, mi hermana y su hijo y, por supuesto, también mi marido y mis hijos. Soy una artista tanto por naturaleza como por crianza.


¿Cómo impacta la pandemia en tu estilo de vida como artista?

La pandemia ha sido muy difícil. Estoy empezando a salir de nuevo, a ver a amigos y familiares, a ver exposiciones de arte y a escuchar música. Voy a escuchar un concierto de música del alma de España este fin de semana. Mi proyecto colectivo de arte de mujeres dio un giro e invité a artistas a compartir su práctica a través del zoom. También comencé a reunirme con amigos artistas a través del zoom. Pero había perdido la capacidad de concentrarme con una elección muy importante que se llevó la mayor parte de mi atención, nuestra democracia en los Estados Unidos está en juego. Pasé el inicio notando todos los pájaros y nidos en mi jardín y comencé a hacer un trabajo inspirado por la tranquilidad, luego comencé una campaña de votación donde doné calcomanías y pins a organizaciones. Los usaban como incentivos y la gente los compraba para enviarlos a todo el país para ayudar a sacar el voto. También estaba trabajando en base a lo que les estaba pasando a los niños en la frontera. Ahora estoy trabajando en un proyecto inspirado por Mujeres Guerreras y las mujeres que nos respaldan. El mayor cambio en mi estilo de vida debido a la pandemia es que paso mucho más tiempo sacando a mis perros a dar largos paseos y no puedo organizar cenas. Soy muy afortunada y estoy agradecida de que mi familia y amigos hayan conservado sus trabajos, hogares y vidas. Desde que escribí esto, soy anfitriona nuevamente, al aire libre y he aceptado una residencia de artista en grabado en una escuela local donde la Justicia Social es la base de su plan de estudios.


Como mencionaste, has estado y todavía estás trabajando en un proyecto inspirado en Mujeres Guerreras. ¿Podrías contarnos más sobre este proyecto? ¿Quiénes son estas mujeres, qué han hecho para que las consideres como inspiración en tu proyecto? Asherah, Madre de todos los Dioses, Poderosa y Nutritiva, Diosa del Árbol, Diosa de la Maternidad, Diosa del Mar.

Hace unos años, me aceptaron en una exposición en Los Ángeles y el curador me preguntó si había leído el libro Henna House. Es un libro que habla sobre cómo las mujeres judías y musulmanas en Yemen compartirían sus historias y secretos entre sí a través de su ritual de dibujar diseños de henna en sus cuerpos. El curador vio mi trabajo y vio la conexión. Cuando leí el libro me dio escalofríos, tuve un momento de déjà vu porque tallo mis bloques de madera en la forma en que las mujeres dibujan henna en sus cuerpos. Esta experiencia me inició en un viaje para descubrir mi ascendencia y la idea de que unir a las mujeres a través de la fe, la cultura y la experiencia de vida podría ser una forma de ayudar a construir puentes. A través de este proyecto conocí y aprendí sobre muchas mujeres increíbles y cómo no llegamos a donde estamos solas. Las mujeres que elegí incluir en el proyecto son mujeres que están trabajando para ayudar a generar cambios y hacer de nuestro mundo un lugar mejor. Al entrevistar a estas mujeres, aprendí sobre las mujeres en sus vidas que las inspiraron y quise compartir sus historias. Este trabajo trata sobre las Mujeres Guerreras que nos respaldan, que nos ayudaron a convertirnos en quienes somos. Todos nos apoyamos en las mujeres. Mujeres en la historia, en nuestras vidas, mujeres que hemos luchado por el cambio, para hacer de este un mundo mejor para todas nuestras hijas e hijos. Usé el pergamino para mostrar las historias que he recopilado. Un pergamino es un símbolo de vida y tiempo. Ambos extremos enrollados indican una vida que se desarrolla de una duración incierta con el pasado y el futuro ocultos.

Notamos que el color azul, en sus diferentes tonalidades, es el dominante en la totalidad de tus creaciones, ¿para qué sirve en tus piezas?

Utilizo el azul en todo mi trabajo debido al simbolismo que conlleva en muchas culturas. Es el color de la protección y trae paz. Es el color del cielo y el mar y cuando viajé por el Mediterráneo, vi que la gente pintaba sus ventanas y puertas de azul para protegerse a sí mismos y a sus familias. Somos agua, somos azules. También pienso en nuestro éter, lo veo azul, por eso la soga y cuerda que utilizo en mi trabajo están teñidas de azul. El azul atraviesa los planos espiritual, emocional y físico.



Otro imprescindible en tu obra general: los símbolos, ¿podrías hablarnos de ellos?

Una vez que un curador me dijo que mi trabajo provoca una conversación, no te golpea en la cara y luego desaparece, pero ves algo nuevo cada vez. Mi trabajo tiene capas tanto físicas como de significado. Investigo los elementos que forman parte de cada pieza. Comenzó para mí cuando mi hija se rompió la espalda al ser arrojada de un caballo. Empecé a tallar esqueletos en mi trabajo. Desde entonces, cada pieza tiene huesos tallados. Cada nuevo trabajo tiene imágenes de lo que vino antes con nuevos elementos agregados. Diferentes objetos de la naturaleza, la mitología, la ascendencia, los problemas del mundo, informan mi trabajo y busco el simbolismo de las cosas a través del tiempo y el lugar que aportan profundidad a cada pieza.

En mi declaración sobre mi trabajo, Asherah, hablo del significado de imágenes específicas que utilicé.

Trabajas en piezas de gran formato y además les agregas mucha textura. ¿Cómo funciona tu proceso, cómo decide la variedad de materiales que utilizarás? ¿Cómo impactan estas decisiones en el resultado de sus creaciones?

Me encanta trabajar en grande, me da espacio para respirar. Cuando comencé a hacer grandes instalaciones de grabado en madera, encontré un papel washi que podía tomar mi tinta y tinte y venía en rollos. También tenía el mismo ancho que la tela que utilizo para ponerle capas, lo que permite libertad y formalidad, y también fue fácil de cortar y dar forma, lo que me dio una manera de romper con elementos que agregan profundidad. Me encantan las telas y el papel washi por su transparencia que permite que la luz altere la imagen y proyecte sombras. Trabajo a partir de una idea, un pensamiento que surge de algo que escucho, veo o siento. A veces se produce durante un sueño o meditación, una charla o un evento. Luego comienzo mi investigación sobre el significado a través de culturas y a través de eso el trabajo comienza a tomar forma. No lo planeo todo, se me ocurre mientras trabajo y luego empiezo a experimentar. También me encanta usar arcilla, ya que se presta al relieve y al dibujo que hago. Dibujar con una gubia en madera o una herramienta en arcilla me satisface profundamente.

Por favor menciona de 5 a 10 palabras que te vengan a la mente sobre tu proyecto en esta residencia virtual.

Oportunidad, crecimiento, visión, lento, significativo, homenaje, honor, atemporal, mujeres guerreras.

Gracias!


Sigue a Cathy Weiss en Instagram @cathyweiss



43 views0 comments
bottom of page